top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie White

Gil's Supper Club

Updated: Oct 22, 2020

The first Fried Frenzy trip to kick off the blog focuses on a small town favorite in Hannah City, IL for their infamous fried chicken.

The first stop on our "Fried Chicken Expedition" was Gil's Supper Club in Hannah City, IL. It had a very hometown feel to it, but you could really tell they were proud of their chicken! As seen in the picture above, they were not shy about flaunting their best dish, as they have a giant metallic mascot and everything!



However, Gil's does offer a lot more than just freshly fried chicken. There is an assortment of meal options listed on their menu.


The Chicken... is it Finger Lickin'?


I ordered a quarter of their fried chicken and opted for all white meat and chose to pair it with a double order of steak fries and a Dr. Pepper. Upon first bite, I already knew I did not quite agree with the restaurant's claim that it offered the "best fried chicken in Central Illinois."


The breading was nicely crisped, allowing a nice "crunch" after each bite, but it lacked much seasoning. It was also not very greasy, which is both a pro and a con. There was no film of oil left on my hands or around my mouth, but it felt like it lacked that succulent, guilty pleasure aspect of classic deep fried chicken.


Overall, the texture and taste of the chicken was good. The quality of the meat was great and it did still give you that delectable combination of tender meat with crunchy fried breading, but the "wow" factor just wasn't there.




On the "Flip Side"


Sides can make or break a meal experience, which is why it is necessary to review them separately from the main dish. With a double order of steak fries, I was facing two full plates of thick-cut, deep fried potatoes (second plate not pictured).


The presentation of the fries was nothing special, as they were haphazardly poured on top of and to the side of my chicken. This was not much of a shock or an issue at all, as the restaurant's small town vibes did not make me expect a super fancy display on my plate.


The texture was subpar, as many fries were mushy. Since they were so thick, there wasn't any real crispiness when you munched on them. This was a slight letdown for me, as I love all things crispy! For seasoning, the fries, much like the chicken, lacked any. After adding some salt, I still enjoyed a few fries between bites of chicken, but I was not left wanting more and my second serving of fries remained completely untouched.


The Final Verdict


My supper from Gil's was edible and still subsided my weekly fried chicken craving, but I will not be joining their fan club. I went in with very high standards, as I had been told for years by friends and family that I NEEDED to try it, but I did not see what all the fuss was about. Since it was a first-try for the first post on this blog, I was quite disappointed that it could not set the bar a little higher. However, better fried chicken is out there and I can't wait to share it with my Fried Frenzy Family.

23 views3 comments
bottom of page