top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie White

Popeye's Louisiana Kitchen

My second fried chicken trip was to Popeye's Louisiana Kitchen for some New Orleans style deep fried deliciousness.


Our second stop on the "Fried Chicken Expedition" had me really excited, as the last place's chicken lacked much seasoning, and Popeye's prides itself on its Louisiana spice. I had very high expectations for this taste test even though this establishment was a fast food restaurant over a sit down joint. That being said, the taste testing for today's blog took place in my car!


The Chicken... is it Finger Lickin'?


For this chicken check-in, I ordered a two piece combo with all white meat pieces accompanied by their "Cajun fries" and a large Dr. Pepper, all for under $8! After paying and receiving my drink, one of the employees informed me that I would have to wait "15 minutes" if I wanted all white meat chicken. After confirming that the wait was fine, my friend and I pulled around to the front of the building to sit there patiently.


Eventually, it became clear that 15 minutes was a massive understatement, and after what felt like an entire hour, I finally received my meal. It had taken exactly 30 minutes from the moment I ordered to actually get my food. I was quite upset with how long the wait time was and how unapologetic the workers were, but I was more ready than ever to start the taste testing.


Given how hungry I was after my long wait, I was very antsy to begin, which is how this review ended up occurring in my car. Trying my best to avoid massive crumb explosions, I dove right in.


I tried to quickly devour my wing, but was soon stopped by how extremely hot it was. My mouth was on fire! Every bite I took squeezed more scalding juices out, which was actually a good thing. This proved just how fresh and juicy the chicken really was. Even though I burned my tongue, I was very happy my long wait was not a complete waste of time.


The breading of the chicken delivered the most musical crunch to the ears each time I sunk my teeth back into it. It was immaculately crisp, and even more impressively seasoned. I had ordered their mild style, as they offer hot or mild breading. My selection offered the perfect slight kick of southern spice, and was seasoned to mouthwatering perfection. Overall, the chicken was perfectly executed and very worth the wait.


Side Selections


My "Cajun fries" also came with a golden biscuit perched on top of them, giving me two extra flavors to pair with the delightful chicken. First of all, the fries were cooked to perfection: nice and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Much like the chicken, their texture was heightened by the wonderful seasoning on them, making it the full package. The final component of the meal, their signature complimentary biscuit, was what really pulled it all together. The delectably salty and sweet bread really packed the final punch, earning this stop on the "Fried Chicken Expedition" the number one spot so far, and one that will be hard to change at that.


Will the Popeye's combo hold on to the #1 spot as well as I think it will for the next couple of weeks? Keep up with the "Fried Chicken Expedition" and become part of the Fried Frenzy Family to find out!

9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page